Cherries Jubilee

11 Jun

I was supermarket shopping this week and could not resist the fresh dark cherries that were just being packed on the shelf.  How about Cherries Jubilee I thought to myself. With my cherries in hand, I headed for the frozen section to pickup some vanilla ice cream to complete my dessert!

The great French Chef Auguste Esscofier created this dessert in honour of  Queen Victoria’s Jubilee celebration who loved cherries. Its a simple recipe of cherries simmered in syrup which is then flambeed with kirsh and served with vanilla ice cream.  Flambeing caramelizes sugars and deepens flavors.

It makes for a cool dessert on a hot summer evening. Give it a try!

Cherries Jubilee

1 lb. fresh dark cherries, pitted

1/2 cup sugar

1/4 cup orange juice

1/4 cup kirsh

2 tablespoons cornstarch

Method

  1. In a skillet, whisk together the sugar and cornstarch.
  2. Stir in the water and orange juice . Continue to whisk over medium heat until thickened.
  3. Add the cherries and simmer for 5  minutes or until cherries warm through.
  4. Remove the skillet from the heat and pour in the kirsh.  Ignite and allow alcohol to burn off.
  5. Spoon the cherries over ice cream and top with a dollop of whipped cream.
3 Responses to “Cherries Jubilee”

  1. Lucien Robinson June 11, 2011 at 6:33 pm #

    Nicki this leaves me drooling for a taste. I felt I had to rush out to the store immediately. I will be passing this on to friends if that is OK. I will be back for more.

    • nicstemptations June 11, 2011 at 6:41 pm #

      Hi Uncle Gary,

      Please share.

      • Lucien Robinson June 12, 2011 at 12:19 pm #

        Will gladly share with all my friends.

        Gary

Leave a Reply

